You are here
Home > Sport News > Football > Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold in Gareth Southgate’s squad

Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold in Gareth Southgate’s squad

Trent Alexander-Arnold and Ruben Loftus-Cheek have been included in England’s 23-man squad for next month’s World Cup finals.

Burnley goalkeeper Nick Pope is also named in Gareth Southgate’s travelling party for Russia 2018, meaning no place for established number one Joe Hart.

Southgate has selected a young group, which includes the uncapped Alexander-Arnold – a likely starter for Liverpool in next week’s Champions League final against Real Madrid – and Chelsea starlet Loftus-Cheek, who boasts just two previous senior appearances.

As well as leaving out Hart following the West Ham United loanee’s loss of form, Southgate has also omitted Arsenal midfielder Jack Wilshere and Liverpool’s Adam Lallana, while Ryan Sessegnon, Ryan Bertrand, Chris Smalling and Jonjo Shelvey fail to make the cut.

There is a recall to the side for Chelsea skipper Gary Cahill, though, with Alfie Mawson out injured and James Tarkowski only on the stand-by list.

Lewis Cook, Tom Heaton and Jake Livermore join Lallana and Tarkowski on the list of back-up options.

England start their Group G campaign against Tunisia on June 18, before games against Panama and Belgium.

England’s 23-man squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Butland, Pickford, Pope

Defenders: Alexander-Arnold, Cahill, Delph, Jones, Maguire, Rose, Stones, Trippier, Walker, Young

Midfielders: Alli, Dier, Henderson, Lingard, Loftus-Cheek

Forwards: Kane, Rashford, Sterling, Vardy, Welbeck

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply