You are here
Home > Don't Miss > Germany omit Manchester City’s Leroy Sane from 23-man squad

Germany omit Manchester City’s Leroy Sane from 23-man squad

Leroy Sane has been left out of Germany’s World Cup 2018 squad for Russia 2018 by manager Joachim Low, despite playing a major part in Manchester City’s Premier League-winning campaign.

The 22-year-old, who this season was named PFA Young Player of the Year, scored 10 goals and provided 15 assists for City as they cruised to the Premier League title as well as the Carabao Cup, but Löw has not found space for him in his 23-man squad that will bid to successfully defend the World Cup in Russia.

Sane’s omission comes as a major shock given that both Marco Reus and Mario Gomez feature, with the former suffering heavily from injuries in recent years after missing both the 2014 World Cup and Euro 2016 and the latter putting in an underwhelming season with Stuttgart.

Arsenal’s Mesut Özil is also included despite a below-par campaign with Arsenal, who finished sixth in the Premier League and failed to win any silverware that led to the departure of manager Arsene Wenger.

Along with Sane, goalkeeper Bernd Leno, defender Jonathan Tah and forward Nils Petersen were the unlucky quartet to be cut from Löw’s squad, although Julian Brandt proved to be another surprise inclusion given the number of wingers already in the side.

Bayern Munich goalkeeper Manuel Neuer makes the cut after making his return to the national team in the weekend’s 2-1 defeat by Austria, with the captain set to remain as the first-choice No 1 ahead of Barcelona’s Marc-Andre ter Stegen and Kevin Trapp of Paris Saint-Germain.

Germany’s World Cup squad

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer, Kevin Trapp, Marc-Andre ter Stegen

Defenders: Marvin Plattenhardt, Jonas Hector, Matthias Ginter, Mats Hummels, Niklas Sule, Antonio Rudiger, Jerome Boateng, Joshua Kimmich.

Midfielders: Sami Khedira, Julian Draxler, Toni Kroos, Timo Werner, Mesut Ozil, Leon Goretzka, Sebastian Rudy, Julian Brandt, Ilkay Gundogan.

Forwards: Marco Reus, Thomas Muller, Mario Gomez

Similar Articles