You are here
Home > Sport News > CROTIA BEAT U.S TO GET TO DAVIS CUP FINAL

CROTIA BEAT U.S TO GET TO DAVIS CUP FINAL

Earler, Cilic was given a code violation by Carlos Ramos – the umpire who was called a “thief” by Serena Williams in the US Open final for smashing his racquet.

The world number six broke his racquet on the ground after a series of errors in a tight third set against Querrey.

He was given the reprimand by Ramos but, because it was his first offence of the match, Cilic was issued with a warning and no points were deducted.

“Usually when you break a racquet, you get a code violation,” Cilic said, adding that he “could not remember” the last time he broke any equipment on court.

The 29-year-old had previously squandered a 6-1 lead in the second set tie-break and hit 72 unforced errors to Querrey’s 57.

There was further frustration for Coric, who led 5-1 in the third set which he eventually lost on a lengthy tie-break.

However Coric, who beat Roger Federer in the Halle Open final in June, took control of the final two sets to win in four hours and six minutes.

Similar Articles

Top